Now Playing
K99.1FM
On Air
No Program
Now Playing
K99.1FM

Posted: September 17, 2017

Booted twice: Texas Lutheran kicker converts FG after attempt was blocked

Texas Lutheran University won its first game of the 2017 season on Saturday.
Texas Lutheran University Twitter page
Texas Lutheran University won its first game of the 2017 season on Saturday.

By Bob D’Angelo, Cox Media Group National Content Desk

SEGUIN, Texas —

It was definitely the strangest field goal ever made in college football, and while it might not be legal, it counted Saturday during Texas Lutheran’s 37-0 victory.

>> Read more trending news 

Texas Lutheran was attempting an 18-yard field goal late in the first half against Belhaven (Miss.) when it was blocked. The ball bounced back toward freshman Tyler Hopkins, who kicked it a second time. The ball sailed through the uprights, and after some discussion among the referees, the field goal attempt was declared good. It overshadowed the first shutout victory for Texas Lutheran since 2008 as the Bulldogs intercepted three passes.

But was the kick legal?

The NCAA’s football rulebook says “a player shall not kick a loose ball,” and doing so is a 10-yard penalty that carries a loss of down, SBNation reported.

“A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone and advance it,” SBNation reported, citing the NCAA rulebook.


And here is an end zone view:

Texas Lutheran improved to 1-1 overall in its American Southwest Conference opener. Belhaven fell to 1-1 overall and 1-1 in conference play.


There are no comments yet. Be the first to post your thoughts. or Register.